EVA 2018 Group 2 2

Celebrating Elmbridge Volunteers 2018

The second Elmbridge Long Service Volunteer Awards were held on 19thOctober 2018, organised by Volunteer Centre Elmbridge and Elmbridge Borough Council, to celebrate and recognise the incredible support that volunteers contribute to the Elmbridge community.

The celebration event was held at Elmbridge Borough Council Chambers, where nominated volunteers enjoyed a drink and canapés alongside their fellow nominees and guests before the ceremony.

The awards were presented by The Worshipful the Mayor of the Borough of Elmbridge Councillor Shweta Kapadia, who congratulated all 31 nominees and expressed her appreciation, on behalf of the Borough of Elmbridge, to all of the volunteers nominated and thanked them for their priceless contribution to our community.

Gail McKenzie, Voluntary and Support Services Manager(Elmbridge Borough Council) and Sally Dubery, Chief Officer (Volunteer Centre Elmbridge/ Central Surrey Voluntary Action) read out the citations, highlighting the many invaluable contributions made by the nominees at a special ceremony.

Nominated volunteers, who all received an award, were as follows:

Alexandra Ashman               -Freewheelers Theatre and Media

Mary Ayres                             -Hersham Youth Trust

Rosemary Bailey                   -ECL-Elmbridge Community Link

Jenny Bird                              -Cruse Bereavement Care (Charity)

Nicola Corcoran                     -Home-Start Elmbridge

Rob Fairhurst                         -Citizen Advice Elmbridge (West)

Christopher Florence            -Elmbridge and Runnymede Talking Newspaper

Darren Garland-Bonner       -Outline

Sean Gerrard-Davies             -Walton Charity

Christopher Gilroy                -Elmbridge and Runnymede Talking Newspaper

Christine Glass                       -Home-Start Elmbridge

Mark Handley                         -Molesey Bridge Club

Pavleta Hlebarska                  -CSVA/Elmbridge Volunteer Centre

Claire Horner                         -Cruse Bereavement Care (Charity)

Sara Hutton                            -Molesey Care

Mabel Rose Jones                 -Cheer

John Joyce                             -Elmbridge Veterans Support Association

Peter Kearns                          -Brooklands Museum

Susan Kilpatrick                   -Cobham & Downside Residents’ Association

Diane Latham                       -Dyscover Limited

Chris Manning                     -3rd Molesey (Beaver )

David  Jarvis -Norse CBE  -Molesey Care

David John Parks               -Claygate Recreation Ground Trust

Alan Petipher                      -Elmbridge Community Fishing Academy

David  Pointet                     -Elmbridge Rentstart

Rachel Reed                         -Princess Alice Hospice

Soo Lin  Reed                       -Home Support Elmbridge

Vanessa Relleen                  -Claygate Village Association

Nigel Scott                             -Surrey Community Music Society

Barbara Shaw                        -Cheer

Barbara  Wood                      -Making Sense Elmbridge


The Worshipful the Mayor of the Borough of Elmbridge Councillor Shweta Kapadia commented,   

“The dedication and tireless service of all the nominated volunteers is truly overwhelming and humbling. Without their hard work, some of the organisations would find it difficult to serve the community. Elmbridge Borough Council is proud to recognise the contribution they make to the well-being of the Borough’s residents. My congratulations and thanks to each and every award winner for their service to the community and the Borough.”


 Sally Dubery of Volunteer Centre Elmbridge also commented,

“Every day I am amazed at the dedication and kindness shown by local volunteers. Their commitment to the community is vital and we want to take this opportunity to thank each and every volunteer for their wonderful contribution”.

The Elmbridge Volunteer Awards 2018 was a collaboration between Volunteer Centre Elmbridge and Elmbridge Borough Council.